top of page

Three Ways to Get Your Family Eating Better

I love this time of year. The birds singing. The beautiful weather. The fresh produce in the farmers' market... oh, wait. It's not time for that yet! Mother nature has us leaping into an early spring, so hopefully our produce will follow suit. Today it feels wonderful in Chattanooga. I'm typing this outside on the deck of a local eatery while I look out over the Tennessee River. Working is not the best thing for today. Wish I was one of those people who didn't have to worry about it!

I'm noshing on a local yogurt, enjoying herbal tea and procrastinating a grocery list. When did it become so difficult to choose what is healthy and good for our bodies? When it was just me, I took liberties too often with my food selections. Now that I am growing a little boy, I have to focus more on what should and what shouldn't pass his lips. Or Mine. If he sees me eat something, he without hesitation wants some too. Somehow I've come to enjoy kale--tucked into a cabbage and brussel sprout salad or chopped to bits in a smoothie.

But all of that fruit isn't good for us. Too much sugar. Too many carbs. Who knows when you are doing right any more? Juicing. Keto. Paleo. Whole30. Vegan. Pescetarianism. Let's go back to the old days when you could just eat good food and engage in moderate exercise. Now many have become a judge or a critic.

Even as a strong independent woman, it is difficult to combat the constant battering of opinions and you-should's unsolicited but ever-flowing.

Teaching healthy eating habits at this age is so important. Every has a different idea of what that is, so keep reading if you want my take on it.

Grow a Garden

Did you know that if a child helps to grow a fruit or vegetable, they are five times more likely to eat it? (Food researchers at Ohio State University and Cornell University say so.)

I am a strong advocate that we should provide schools with garden spaces to help children learn to grow (and eat) healthy foods and learn hard work by reaping what they sow--quite literally. There are programs across the United States making headway (e.g., Foodprints, REAL School Gardens, The Edible Schoolyard Project).

As a relatively new mother, I am excited about making small changes that I know will make a difference in Declan's food choices.

Have a Colorful Plate

If you look at your plate for most meals, how does it look? All white with some shades of brown? We can all get stuck in a rut, but hopefully our go-to's are full of color and flavor.

Here's an awesome printable from Melissa & Doug that will get the kids learning and coloring their favorite veggies.

LJ, DW &

Jax (not pictured)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page