top of page

The Future for Us with Trump as President

I voted early last week. I had no doubt in my mind who deserved my vote. I do not believe in a two party system. I believe in putting the best person for the job in office; I voted for Evan McMullen and Mindy Finn. I do not believe that any vote is a wasted vote. I will be held accountable for those I vote into office. Everyone should educate himself/herself on all of the platforms of each available candidate and make the best choice for our future.

I have read today (in the New York Times) that though we have seen victory in many areas (feminism, civil rights, mass immigration, the information age, and the sexual revolution), the white working man has been invisible/felt left behind in the progress. In efforts to overcome "the man", a silent majority voted in Donald J. Trump to be our leader. I can find empathy for such a group. I understand the need to push through and to feel like someone hears your voice. I know too well the desire to be heard and taken seriously.

I wish this silent majority would have chosen a different mouthpiece for change. He is not anything that I would have my son emulate. Shouldn't we want a leader that our children can look up to? I just don't see anything good about this man. But last night as I saw the votes coming in, I felt like I should turn off the tv and close all of the electronics. I spent the evening playing with my son: laughing and enjoying the hope I have for his future regardless of who was elected.

When I awoke this morning, a sadness came over me when I saw that Trump had won. I looked at Facebook for a minute until I couldn't bear the sadness, the anger, and the revelry of the Trumpeteers. I opened Instagram looking for good in the social space. I found inspiration in a post from a friend:

She echoes precisely how I feel I can move forward under the person who was elected. It is especially important in this day and time that we teach our children to become human beings who will better our world.

LJ, DW &

Jax (not pictured)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page